Regional Innovation Award (RIA)

The AER Regional Innovation Award aims at honouring European Regional Authorities' actions, which have stimulated, fostered and implemented innovation in their territory. It aims at promoting best practices as well as to demonstrate how regions can contribute to regional economic welfare.

The AER award is tailor-made for regions and thus focuses on specific aspects that are relevant for regional development. This prize is of symbolic value and produces a significant return in terms of image and visibility for the winning regions. 



RIA 2016

The next edition of the RIA will take place in 2016.

We will continue to keep you updated with the latest news about the application procedure and deadlines.



Documents for information

Click on the image below to download a Regional Innovation Award brochure


Estelle Delangle


And the winner is...

2014: 1st Prize

Värmland (SE) for the project "Karlstad Hospital" 

2010: Category "People"

Tampere (FI) for the project "Demola"

2010: Category "Technology"

Mecklenburg-Vorpommern (DE) for the project "Entrepreneurial Technology Transfer"

2009: Special recognition

Heraklion (GR) for the project "Mobile Mammography Unit"

2008: 1st Prize

Noord-Brabant (NL) for the project "Innovative Actions Brabant"

2011: 1st Prize - Category "People"

Wielkopolska (PL) for the project "Pre-incubator of Innovation"

2010: Category "Economy"

Uppsala (SE) for the project "SUF-Resource Centre"

2009: 1st Prize

Västra Götaland (SE) for the project "Industrial Dynamics"

2009: 1st Prize

Slaskie (PO) for the project "SEKAP"

Home | What is AER ? | Activities | Members and Partners | Knowledge Centre | Publications | Events | Media corner | Site Index

Assembly of European Regions - 6 Rue Oberlin - F-67000 Strasbourg / 63-67 rue d'Arlon - B-1040 Bruxelles /
All rights reserved © Assembly of European Regions (AER) 1999-2015 (Read Legal information and Disclaimer)
Development CMS Typo3 Ameos and AER - webmasterdelete_me(at)